

NEW ZEALANDER OF THE YEAR AWARDS

Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the New Zealander of the Year Awards?

The New Zealander of the Year Awards is the ultimate accolade for New Zealanders, nominated by New Zealanders. They recognise, encourage and reward New Zealand's most vital asset - its people.

In addition to the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year, awards will also be presented to New Zealanders who have performed with distinction in five additional award categories.

- University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year (15-30 years)
- Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year (60 years and over)
- Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year
- Sanitarium New Zealand Innovator of the Year
- Mitre10 New Zealand Community of the Year

How long have the Awards been running?

The Awards are now in their ninth year, the first honours were awarded in 2010.

What makes a New Zealander of the Year?

The New Zealander of the Year Award is for individuals who have made a telling contribution to New Zealand. Their pursuit of excellence may be in areas of science, business, the arts, cultural or community involvement, sport, education and health. Their achievements make our country a better place to live.

How can I nominate someone?

Any member of the public can nominate an individual or community organisation in the Awards programme.

Nominations for the 2018 New Zealander of the Year Awards can be made until 18th September 2017 through completing a short online nomination form at www.nzawards.co.nz or requesting an information brochure from the Awards Office by calling 0508 692 927.

What happens after the nominations period closes?

In late December, the judging panel will announce its shortlist of 10 semifinalists.

The winner will be selected from three finalists, who will be sent on an all-expenses paid trip to Auckland to attend the Awards ceremony.

When will the New Zealander of the Year be announced?

The 2018 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year will be announced at the New Zealander of the Year Awards Gala in Auckland in February 2018.

Who has previously won the New Zealander of the Year award?

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award are: Taika Waititi (2017), Richie McCaw (2016), Sir Stephen Tindall (2015), Dr Lance O'Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

Who's on the judging panel?

The judging panel comprises a range of people from all walks of life. They include representatives of all the awards, patrons, presenters, sponsors, community leaders and independent experts.